Author Topic: Why did wide decks become so popular?  (Read 48099 times)

matix218

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 1
Why did wide decks become so popular?
« on: July 06, 2016, 07:44:11 AM »
Hey guys, I am just coming back to skating after around a 3 year hiatus (got married, had a kid, moved to new house/state, etc).  Prior to that I had been skating consistently for around 17 years (I am 33 now).

I have noticed in my browsing of online skateshops, watching newer video parts, reading forums and whatnot that people are riding way wider boards now.  Even guys that do extremely technical stuff seem to be riding 8-8.5 decks.

I was always a fliptrick heavy skater moreso then big gaps or stairs and I always rode a 7.5-7.56 deck which was very common to see at the time.  I noticed now that basically 7.75 is considered the skinniest board that people would consider using.  Some places even list 7.5 decks as "minis" now.

I am wondering if any of you guys who have been skating for a long time on skinnier boards have  made the transition to the newer trend of wider boards and how that transition went?

I just bought my first new deck in several years and it is a 7.75 so essentially only .25" wider than what I am used to so I cant imagine that the transition will be too hard.

Also have you guys found significant advantages or even noticed that your flip tricks improved by going to a wider board?

busted-knee

• Rep: -12
Re: Why did wide decks become so popular?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 08:01:46 AM »
Fashions. Just like stupidly small wheels in the early 90s, board sizes change with fashions. I've always liked a board between 8.25 and 8.5, so it's much easier now for me - these weren't always that common. I can remember riding and 8.5 on a trip to Sweden years ago and hearing some kid telling his little buddies that I was riding a 'vert board'.