Author Topic: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?  (Read 2534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: -87
  • Lance Mountain
Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« on: May 23, 2017, 08:42:50 AM »
Why do some people do that ? Or even the crazy 2 bolts per truck

Doesn't it mess with your turning and board feel ?
yes

master p

  • Guest
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2017, 09:16:09 AM »
Cause I lost one. And Im sure if replaced it with a different company's bolt it would totally mess up the turning radius.


lampshade

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1990
  • Rep: 66
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2017, 09:59:14 AM »
Why do some people do that ? Or even the crazy 2 bolts per truck

Doesn't it mess with your turning and board feel ?

Weight savings

thespacewolf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Rep: -8
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2017, 10:38:33 AM »
Why do some people do that ? Or even the crazy 2 bolts per truck

Doesn't it mess with your turning and board feel ?

Weight savings
yeah, always thought it was a weight thing, it does affect your turning because eventually all the other bolts loosen up from not having that support.

le88

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Rep: -7
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2017, 11:01:23 AM »
"weight" and "being lazy"

rubbery vagina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • Rep: -34
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2017, 11:05:27 AM »
the weight thing is a joke, I hope. Laziness or a stripped bolt that takes too long to get a nut back on in the midst of a deck change.

datura

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Rep: 17
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2017, 01:01:50 PM »
i got one inch bolts, quickly lost most of them because 1" bolts are shit, and only had seven 1 1/4" to replace them with.

handsclapanin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 951
  • Rep: 149
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2017, 01:12:20 PM »
I rock 4 in the front. 3 in back. That way there is never a question about which end is the nose/tail when throwing down. And I always leave the same one missing in back. Wheelbase heel side.

j....soy.....

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 12578
  • Rep: 666
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2017, 05:42:35 PM »
All the cool guys in the 90's here rolled with two and two.....

perverted super otaku!

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 4557
  • Rep: -211
  • "Needless to say, I had the last laugh."
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2017, 05:44:54 PM »
the weight thing is a joke, I hope. Laziness or a stripped bolt that takes too long to get a nut back on in the midst of a deck change.
it's not...


mynameisnotjeff

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2748
  • Rep: 47
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2017, 06:16:15 PM »
the weight thing is a joke, I hope. Laziness or a stripped bolt that takes too long to get a nut back on in the midst of a deck change.
it's not...


It would be lighter if he cut off holes for the bolts smh haha
Nothing I do deserves more than an iphone camera.

max power

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 6628
  • Rep: 630
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2017, 07:58:19 PM »
or if he used 7/8" instead of 1" bolts if we're getting picky.

MaitlandPrivado

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Rep: 25
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2017, 09:07:43 AM »
or if he used 7/8" instead of 1" bolts if we're getting picky.

Hell yeah I saw that too. According to my personal parts weight database, the difference on my scale between 7/8" and 1" Independent allens is 0.5 grams per bolt. I have been toying with the idea of buying a set of Theeve ti and Shorty's lights to mix and match just to see how much weight can be shaved with easily sourced parts from companies I like to support. This should offset most of the weight difference between cast vs forged baseplates for guys who want the taller height of cast but are concerned with weight and willing to spend 12x  :o what a cheap set of hardware costs to get one regular and one lightweight set.

handsclapanin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 951
  • Rep: 149
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2017, 09:31:04 AM »
All the cool guys in the 90's here rolled with two and two.....

I used to do this a lot in the 90's. To me, it was a time saving thing. I was young and going through a board a week. So my setup never had time to loosen up. Nowadays, a board will last me 6 weeks sometimes.
Not sure if I've ever been a cool guy though...

yourfuckingdad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
  • Rep: -24
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2017, 09:26:27 PM »
People where I grew up used to do it to identify the nose from the tail. 3 on the back and 4 on the front.

shitsandwich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 627
  • Rep: -50
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2017, 09:29:43 PM »
I do this to tell the nose from the tail but I feel like after awhile it throws off the center of the board.

AsianVegan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
  • Rep: 28
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #16 on: May 25, 2017, 12:23:55 AM »
For a while there I'd leave off the heelside/wheelbase bolt on the front truck, as if my flick would be smoother by my shoe not catching on it. Dumb shit.

Nora9

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Rep: -81
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #17 on: May 25, 2017, 02:53:28 AM »
our friend had no hardware so we each have him 1 screw

Esquivel

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1167
  • Rep: 62
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2017, 03:37:50 AM »
Did you let him spank you first?

On topic, always going 4x4 - I like to not have my bolts super tight so if i only used three (or two) per plate the trucks would loosen up in minutes and i would eventually have to spend more time tightening my trucks multiple times a day instead of fully setting up once and then maybe re-tightening once more until i get a new board.
Chusticiero/Fuma chustas - Person who smokes the end of the joint.

Nora9

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Rep: -81
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2017, 04:21:09 AM »
yes we spanked each other on the reg but it was on the #sportsbros #friendlypatontherear tip u are just showing ur dude u appreciate his gains its not gay at all

Turtle Boy

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2521
  • Rep: 129
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #20 on: May 25, 2017, 06:15:41 AM »
the weight thing is a joke, I hope. Laziness or a stripped bolt that takes too long to get a nut back on in the midst of a deck change.
it's not...


It would be lighter if he cut off holes for the bolts smh haha
His ring or his watch weight probably 10X than those 4 bolts

Krooked antihero

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
  • Rep: 32
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2017, 06:44:09 AM »
All the cool guys in the 90's here rolled with two and two.....

I used to do this a lot in the 90's. To me, it was a time saving thing. I was young and going through a board a week. So my setup never had time to loosen up. Nowadays, a board will last me 6 weeks sometimes.
Not sure if I've ever been a cool guy though...
I saw last winter some dude trying to big ol backside ollie to noseblunt on decent size tranny, with only two and two bolts. That fucking bolt snapped when he landed on noseblunt position and that dude ate so much shit, face first straight to bottom...that scared shit out of me, I ride always 4&4 nowadays.
europe's like the capitol of england and france and whatever

Seadramon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
  • Rep: 53
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2017, 05:23:23 PM »
I've always used 3 bolts per - I just don't have the patience to screw that extra bolt.





DCLOVE

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1832
  • Rep: -101
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #23 on: May 26, 2017, 11:56:52 AM »
I throw in a colored one or a random Allen bolt or Phillips depending what I have the most of to tell the difference. Or I Lose one randomly and just run with it. I'm typically on that beat down Cory Kennedy board lifestyle .

madtragic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Rep: 2
  • Think differently, on purpose
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #24 on: May 26, 2017, 12:01:05 PM »
Skateboarders are poor bro. Scraping together hardware is a chore. I'm lucky if all 8 match.

Nora9

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Rep: -81
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #25 on: May 26, 2017, 03:27:57 PM »
my front truck had 3 bearings for a year

Jud Nestorkins

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Rep: -39
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #26 on: May 30, 2017, 06:38:00 PM »
 I've always just rocked three because I'm a lazy pile of shit but I do have to tighten my hard work quite often and with several of these stories I think I'm gonna rock all four from now on LOL

via

  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2851
  • Rep: 214
Re: Why do some people only set up with 3 bolts ?
« Reply #27 on: May 30, 2017, 07:07:20 PM »
I always do 4 in the back and 3 in the front, with the missing bolt in the front being near where my flick is. It purely psychological but it just feels right to have it lined up that way.