Author Topic: Opinions on wearing protective gear  (Read 250 times)

jmzzz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 0
Opinions on wearing protective gear
« on: May 15, 2024, 10:03:40 AM »
Hey everyone, I'm a student conducting a research project on skaters wearing protective gear, I wanted to ask if there is a reason that generally speaking, people don’t use as much gear or are limited?

I would greatly value the opinions of those aged 18 and over on my survey.

Link to survey: https://app.onlinesurveys.jisc.ac.uk/s/lboro/skateboarding-protective-gear-survey

gringo_viejo

• Rep: 44
Re: Opinions on wearing protective gear
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2024, 01:16:18 PM »
Hey everyone, I'm a student conducting a research project on skaters wearing protective gear, I wanted to ask if there is a reason that generally speaking, people don’t use as much gear or are limited?

I would greatly value the opinions of those aged 18 and over on my survey.

Link to survey: https://app.onlinesurveys.jisc.ac.uk/s/lboro/skateboarding-protective-gear-survey

I wear pads. Helmet, knee pads, and elbow pads almost always.
Why? I'm old, I don't bounce, and I like to skate transition. Many times pads have been the difference between "get up and keep skating" and "two weeks of rehab."
But they're not cool. They're not convenient. And they're not comfortable. Hot summer day plus full pads, you're going to sweat through your pants.
I think also that an added danger factor on a trick makes it more impressive, right? Pro skaters are basically stunt people. It has to look casual, like you were just pushing down the street and on a whim decided to backside flip that seven stair. Protective gear detracts from that badass factor. And since we all want to be like pro skaters...

Edit: forgot about cost too. You can spend a couple hundred bucks on good pads easy. And the cheap ones don't protect, so what's the point of that?

j....soy.....

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1586