Author Topic: Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St Paul)  (Read 214 times)

lilac

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 13
  • Probably just a poser. For now, at least.
    • Telegram Account avatar image
Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St Paul)
« on: April 27, 2024, 12:24:39 AM »
I'm new to the Twin Cities area, and only a few months into learning to skate. Was wondering if anyone knew of any cool street spots that wouldn't absolutely wreck an uncoordinated beginner, lol. Also looking for skate parks in the area that have good vibes and are chill about beginners being around. Would be interested in knowing go-to's for locally owned skate shops, too.
Also... probably a dumb question, but, what do upper midwest skaters do during the winter?...
Got a light?

zapruder

• Rep: 12
Re: Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St Paul)
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2024, 06:21:40 PM »
UofM campus is a skatepark, granite ledges everywhere, banks, manny pads. Northrop Mall is the epicenter. security has been super lenient lately, one cop even telling us "it's saturday, of course you can skate."

Government Center in downtown Minneapolis has ledges of various heights but the ground is unapologetic at spots. from there if you cross the street in any direction you can hit a mellow 5 stair, banks, or more ledges.

Palace in St Paul is far and away the most fun and chill park in the cities. modular ramps and always rad vibes. I hit this one almost daily over lunch and it's the warmup spot when we film on this side of town. Painter Park in mpls serves the same purpose on that side of town but it's a crispy new plaza

over the winter most people will go to either 3rd Lair or Familia. plenty of private indoor bowls with keyholders too! we've got it really good compared to other midwest cities
« Last Edit: April 29, 2024, 09:39:13 AM by zapruder »

lilac

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2024, 03:24:48 PM »