Author Topic: Skaters that Persevere  (Read 2977 times)

victor doom

• Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: -15
  • "Have no fear of perfection, you'll never reach it
Skaters that Persevere
« on: July 25, 2019, 05:54:49 PM »
I'm starting this thread to find out how many Pals out there have any illnesses or health conditions that make skateboarding more difficult than other skaters. I have been skating for over 30 years with type 1 diabetes that I've had for forty years. Prepping my blood sugar before a session can be very stressful and if my blood sugar drops too low, it will fuck up the day. I also developed retinopathy from being an idiot and had my blood sugar too high trying to avoid having an insulin reaction while skating. On top of that shit, I have psoriatic arthritis which I have under control, but is prone to attack my joints. I'm not trying to have a pity party, just want to know what hurdles other skaters endure for their love for skateboarding

Lou Strux

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 2209
  • The Swede is down at Venice Beach, shove off!
Re: Skaters that Persevere
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2019, 06:10:15 PM »
Don’t know if this counts, but I’m on my 2nd titanium femur (in my right leg.) Kinda lost my hops as a result of the additional hardware, but at my age, that was likely to happen sooner rather than later anyway.
...And while the physical pain associated with it is very real, the mere fact that I am still skating (arguably, almost as good as I ever have) in spite of the prognostications that I would probably never even walk normally again, make it all the more enjoyable in this, the autumn of my life.

I wanna play you in a game of SKATE for the right to continue talking shit on me.  You think you got me?

fakie nollie

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1057
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 06:55:19 PM »
I’ve adjusted my pop to compensate for how hard my giant gut swings.

HugeBodBoyle

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 690