Author Topic: Tips for learning ledges, rails, handrails, etc  (Read 3261 times)

munchbox

• Trade Count: (+9)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 863
  • like….? brunch
  • Bronze Topic Start Bronze Topic Start : Start a topic with over 1,000 replies.
Tips for learning ledges, rails, handrails, etc
« on: February 03, 2020, 01:10:36 AM »
been stoked on jamie foy's skating for some time now. rewatched all his parts today cause of the rain and i have been dying to try some grinds. the issue is that i have little to no experience with this kind of skating, but im down to learn.

outside of the legendary nyc spots, there are tons of lesser known rails, hubbas, and ledges just crying out to be skated. keep telling myself "someday" but straight up waiting isnt doing anything to help me get there. if i could pair ledge/rail skating with some consistent flatground tricks, id be more than happy with my skating.

theres some nice shin high ledges at my local ball court, a flatbar outside my local skateshop, and im starting up a curb sometime this month if i find one nice and close.

what would be the training wheels course to learn this? what steps did you take to make progress at first? prerequisites? any tips are welcomed
while cool-guying is a real phenomenon, studies show that 83% of all cool-guying incidents can be attributed to the cool-guyee being an awkward weirdo

silhouette

• Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1569
Re: Tips for learning ledges, rails, handrails, etc
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 01:26:57 AM »
When you say little to no experience with that type of skating, what do you mean exactly? Would help to have a basic idea of what general stage you're at as far as ledges (the most simple out of the three obstacles you mentioned) are concerned, to give the appropriate pointers.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2020, 01:28:46 AM by silhouette »

munchbox

• SLAP Pal
  • like….? brunch
  • Bronze Topic Start Bronze Topic Start : Start a topic with over 1,000 replies.