Author Topic: Fell off skating..want to get back into it  (Read 1209 times)

Lloyd Braun

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 80
Fell off skating..want to get back into it
« on: September 07, 2023, 05:49:01 PM »
So I think in the last two years I have skated maybe 10 times, none of those times were very fun sessions and felt forced if I'm honest. It's weird, I have felt my skater tendencies slipping as well, as in not looking at spots everywhere I go, the urge to travel to new places to skate cool shit etc. Guess I kinda just fell out of love with skating. I got into a new trade and basically got wrapped up in it, spending most of my free time reading, watching videos, learning as much as I can about the craft and practicing it. I am a carpenter by profession, but also like woodworking making odds and ends/home improvement projects etc as a hobby also. Needless to say the line can be a little blurry between work and hobby.

I miss skating for that reason,  but finding it hard to get back into it and over the mental hump of getting back on the board. It's more just finding that spark again for me than knocking the rust off so to speak. This is the first time in 16 or 17 years I've fell off skating, I've had down time due to injuries but always came right back when I healed.

Have any of you guys had a similar experience? Whether the thing that took you away from skating was a job, new hobbies, relationships, whatever. If so how was the process of getting back on the board for you? Any input, advice and/or words of encouragement would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

kook1234

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 136
Re: Fell off skating..want to get back into it
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2023, 06:07:26 PM »