Author Topic: Anyone ride small wheels?  (Read 1753 times)

ok boomer

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1029
  • Gnar Kook
Anyone ride small wheels?
« on: September 04, 2020, 06:56:01 AM »
I'm a big fan of the BPSW era (and the 89-91 era prior). I've been riding 52's for probably 24 years straight, but I always have a yearn for smaller. I've got some 44 mm boardycakes ready for my BPSW nostalgia setup. But I am pondering sizing down a smidge on my regular setups too. Yes, I know of the rocks issue. I have a set of Spitfire 48s that I don't recall buying also. Anyone here ride small(er) wheels? Good? / Bad?

FrozenIndustries

Re: Anyone ride small wheels?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2020, 07:16:28 AM »
I'm a big fan of the BPSW era (and the 89-91 era prior). I've been riding 52's for probably 24 years straight, but I always have a yearn for smaller. I've got some 44 mm boardycakes ready for my BPSW nostalgia setup. But I am pondering sizing down a smidge on my regular setups too. Yes, I know of the rocks issue. I have a set of Spitfire 48s that I don't recall buying also. Anyone here ride small(er) wheels? Good? / Bad?

I usually skate 50/51mm F4 Classics and Tablets. I live on the east coast and skate a lot of rough spots with no problems, though there is some stuff that takes a lot more effort (pushing, rolling over sidewalk joints or whatever). I have friends who are pretty much like, "50mm?? I would never..." but then skate their 54s until they're like 45mm so there is that. I've definitely gotten broken off hard from pebbles on bigger wheels.

I've tried to go bigger but 53mm is my cutoff for a non-cusier setup. I recently made the jump to some 52mm conical fulls and I am loving them...still nice and low but they're super wide and roll over anything. You can also take all this with a grain of salt because I just do slappies and other dumb shit all day.