Author Topic: Good truck size for my setup  (Read 1741 times)

nickan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 0
Good truck size for my setup
« on: December 09, 2020, 10:06:27 PM »
I've been skating for a couple of months now and I basically only ride transition but still like to learn some street stuff here and there. I like to ride boards between 8.75 and 9, and I ride 58mm wheels. I'm currently riding 149 indys but I'm thinking about moving up to 159's because wider trucks seem to be much more fun and responsive for transition. Would it be a good or bad idea to move up to 159, and would I be getting a lot of wheel bite if I moved up cause of the wheel size I ride? Or should I just stick with 149's for now?

jimgrude

• Rep: 66
Re: Good truck size for my setup
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2020, 08:33:52 PM »
Based on your deck size? Yes, you should go with 159's.
If it was me, though, I'd size down my deck to ~8.5 instead. I don't see why a beginner should have to ride such a giant board, even on transition. In any case, a couple of months of skating isn't enough to start thinking about different truck sizes. I'd stick with the same trucks for at least a couple years. Even after two decades of skating, trying a different truck is something that takes me months or years to pull the trigger on.

Mbrimson88

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 973
  • Just another skate shop guy
  • Bronze Topic Start Bronze Topic Start : Start a topic with over 1,000 replies.
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2020, 09:23:26 PM »
If you are wanting more just a big board to have some fun on, then 159 on 8.75 or 169 on 9+ but they are going to change the feel of the setup a fair bit.  If anything the wider trucks will help with less wheelbite, as the board has more concave towards the edge as well.  If it is not an issue with money, then sure go for the 159s and see how you go.