Author Topic: Strange ollie frontside turn issue - any assistance?  (Read 2789 times)

ArgonautJon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 2
Strange ollie frontside turn issue - any assistance?
« on: January 18, 2021, 12:49:56 PM »
Hello,

Apologies in advance, I'm not very familiar with your community and was sent here by a friend. I'm sure you guys probably get a thousand ollie questions, and I'm sure you're sick of them, so thanks for looking at this!

I have a strange issue with my ollies. I've been skating for about 6 months, doing ollies for 5 months, rolling for almost the entire time. They're OK-ish for 5 months when rolling, maybe 4 inches or so. About curb height, maybe a little less. However I've found that to get more height I'm going to need to slide my foot properly. However, I find that when I do that, I get a really heavy frontside turn that seems to be driven by my hips.

Here are some examples. I did them stationary because it exaggerates the issue for demonstration purposes.

https://streamable.com/on17uo - This one has the best example of a super exaggerated turn. The ankle bend and slide looks right to me though, as far as I can tell.
https://streamable.com/tauqxe - Another example, this one at a different angle.

I know that normally this issue is caused by the shoulders but as far as I can tell, my shoulders are staying mostly parallel. They may even be rotating a bit backside in an effort to stop the turn. I know my hips need to stay straight but I just can't figure out a way to crack the muscle memory and force it to happen. I've spent months battling it and I'm a bit lost.

Things I have tried:
  • Crossing arms like an X
  • Keeping hands in pockets
  • Leaving back to a wall

Some other recent clips of my rolling ollies for reference in case they're needed:
https://streamable.com/xg3akz
https://streamable.com/ijedbr

These were with my older, less proper slide so they didn't turn quite as much.