Author Topic: 7.875 or 8.0 for Flatground guy ..  (Read 1336 times)

FrenchSkater

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 28
7.875 or 8.0 for Flatground guy ..
« on: October 09, 2022, 07:59:38 AM »
Let me explain.. I've been skating for 15 years, and for about 5 good years, I've been doing a lot of flat, that's what I do especially during my sessions.

In my first 5 years of skateboarding, I rode 7.5 or 7.75, and by about my fifth year, I started to skate 8 and I increased (to 8.25 but I particularly rode 8.125) because I was doing a lot of gaps!

Now, for 5 years, I prefer to do flat and we do a lot of game of skate with my friends, my main goal of progression is to learn flip tricks in switch, and that's why I went down to 8.00 Since then, neither too big nor too small ! But, there is a difference compared to my first years of skateboarding .. when I increased in size, I don't know why, I lost my kickflip (I put maybe twenty without lying to you since 10 years .. ) and I don't always land my flip back, half cab flip, heelback .. whereas before with a small size, it worked pretty well and I had kickflip every time ! Know that I quite often use switch flips, and no worries for 360 flip, varial flip, varial heel or hardflip ..!

I therefore ask myself the question .. I am quite small (5 feet, 8 inches), I have small legs and small feet (size 8.0), should I go down to you in 7.875/7.9 ? It's the only size possible for me in terms of small size, I've already tried a 7.75 on someone, it's too small in terms of placement and stability! I want to note that I skate high raw ventures in 5.25, but I don't think the truck settings play a part.. I wonder if really a difference of a few millimeters would help me a lot, what scares me with 7.9 is that it makes spinning tricks difficult (I love anything 180, big spin..) but when i look at Luan with his 7.9 he has no trouble  :D