Author Topic: Salaries in Skate? This is what MTB riders make.  (Read 4612 times)

Ghost Face

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 108
Salaries in Skate? This is what MTB riders make.
« on: May 05, 2021, 01:26:08 AM »
There's been loads of threads about skaters salaries over the years and even the post with DC's financials and payments to their Pro's which were astounding at the time.

Pinkbike just released the results of the survey they do on the top 40 riders in 4 MTB disciplines and the numbers are pretty interesting.

https://www.pinkbike.com/news/how-much-do-professional-mountain-bikers-get-paid-pinkbikes-state-of-the-sport-survey.html

Almost 30% of riders polled made less than $5k a year.

It would be pretty interesting if Jenkem did something similar.
Jerrys Kid : "I work at my real job like I'm a pro skater. Years of work can be summarized to about 3 minutes worth of actual achievements."

cky enthusiast

Re: Salaries in Skate? This is what MTB riders make.
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2021, 05:43:33 AM »
there’s a lot more $ in MTB.

Mike Oxwelling

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 29
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2021, 06:04:06 AM »
Who says "in Skate"?   Not skateboarders.

Pipe Dreamer

• Rep: 24
  • Slap hard Slap often
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2021, 07:23:47 AM »
S H A L O M

manysnakes

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1094
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2021, 07:33:04 AM »
there’s a lot more $ in MTB.

Yes and no. A lot more mountain bikes than skateboards are sold by dollar, but competitive and high level mountain biking has negligible interest and public support as opposed to skating. Brands are not nearly as excited to shower a hot young downhill rider with cash and product as they are a young skater, because skateboarding as a sport has a much broader global reach and has produced some legitimate superstars in a way that mountain biking never has (Tinker Juarez isn’t a household name the way that Tony Hawk is).