Author Topic: Need help, disproportionately better at flatground  (Read 1042 times)

NickCammz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 0
Need help, disproportionately better at flatground
« on: February 08, 2022, 04:30:44 PM »
Hey guys, I have been skating for about 15 years now. The first 13 I skated tons but slowed way down to skating only a few times over the past 2 years due to the pandemic, but have recently had a skate resurgence the past couple of months and am back to skating almost daily. The itch never leaves. Anyways, Now that I'm much older (25) and am coming off not skating much for that long it has worsened a problem I have always had. I am ridiculously disproportionately better at flatground than anything else. I have always been better at it than anything because I grew up in a small town with no skatepark and no friends that skated so it was all I had for my first like 4-5ish years skating. As I got older I started to even out a little but there was always a gap. But since I slowed down then started skating again it has gotten outta hand. It's really frustrating because I wanna be able to skate like ledges and flatbars with some competence and I feel like I should be able to but I am really really struggling to re learn old tricks and so help me god if I wanted to learn new tricks, even extremely basic ones when I know I am capable. It hurts to type this cause I fucking hate bragging in any way just sharing for context. On flatground I am on par with and can even beat people in skate that are so good. Coming back into skating I have a pretty deep bag, from anything to like tre flips, frontside and backside flips, bigspins, bigflips to even switch tres, nollie frontside flips, nollie back heels just to name a few tricks I still have pretty locked. But when it comes to anything else, I can like front and back 50 ledges and like front and back board rails and then thrown in back feebles on rails and front 5-0's on ledges and that legit all I got. And sometimes I