Author Topic: What tricks won't work with certain ledges?  (Read 447 times)

Cthunderw

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 16
What tricks won't work with certain ledges?
« on: February 21, 2022, 10:04:51 PM »
I'm just getting into ledge tricks, grinds, and slappys a bit more lately, and I wasn't able to find any info if there are tricks that are just not going to work on certain obstacles. I never hear people mention it in their trick tips. So far, I very sketchily have front and back 5050, front and back nosegrind, front 50, back noseslide, and i can get into back crooks.  I was at a slappy spot today with super round curbs and I really couldn't feel out the pinch. Would a crook work on a super round curb or would the wheel on the ledge just roll too much? any tips on that one? another one i struggle with is back noseslides on ledges with the corner cut away.

And to that note, are there other ledge tricks or grinds that you'd say require semi-specific conditions.

behavioralguide

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 769
  • dog stuff
  • Bronze Topic Start Bronze Topic Start : Start a topic with over 1,000 replies.
Re: What tricks won't work with certain ledges?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2022, 12:42:40 AM »
everything works on everything unless it doesn't

you can crook something fairly round and fat, it just requires more skill/precision

I guess you can't board/lipslide a rail that's so low your wheels would touch

Mean salto

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 856
Re: What tricks won't work with certain ledges?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2022, 12:49:27 AM »
Your setup vs the spot can be a bit of a problem. Where I'm from schools all had these super round aluminium benches and back in skinny board days you'd often either just stick or grind for a second and end up rolling up On-top of the ledge. But if you Ollied from in line with the edge it would usually work.