Author Topic: Moving a jersey barrier  (Read 1496 times)

mamba

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 138
  • Sucka free
Moving a jersey barrier
« on: April 03, 2022, 03:26:31 PM »
i'm new to DIY stuff and this will be my first build. There is a jersey barrier that could be a nice, but its location is not ideal. I'm not talking about moving it to a new place but I just want to move it a few feet. anyone have experience moving one of these things?

I was looking at some car jacks/foor jacks with wheels to move them but idk if it would work.

Chatbot

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 80
Re: Moving a jersey barrier
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2022, 04:46:25 PM »
Maybe use the floor jack to raise the barrier just enough so you can wedge some logs underneath to roll? Similar technique to how people built the pyramids and other monuments. I don’t think it’ll be easy but it seems possible with the help of a few guys.

Mean salto

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 855
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2022, 05:42:54 PM »
Maybe try hire something like this. Try figure out how heavy the barrier is first. You will prob need one of the bigger ones or two. They're more designed to get shit up high but I've used them to move huge boulders before so it could work.

mamba

• Rep: 138
  • Sucka free
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2022, 06:28:45 PM »
Maybe use the floor jack to raise the barrier just enough so you can wedge some logs underneath to roll? Similar technique to how people built the pyramids and other monuments. I don’t think it’ll be easy but it seems possible with the help of a few guys.

oh man this might be crazy enough to work. thanks!

Tear Up a Trick

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 109
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2022, 07:42:59 PM »
You need fulcrum, leverage, a little inertia, and some kinetic energy.

biaherl

• Rep: 263
    • Why So Sad avatar image
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2022, 07:47:47 PM »
Chains and a truck

Plan9Customs

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 511
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2022, 07:50:00 PM »