Author Topic: good knee pads for big :) boy  (Read 501 times)

Pewniw

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 0
good knee pads for big :) boy
« on: October 26, 2022, 05:52:12 PM »
Hey all

Any big guys out there recommend any knee pads at all? I'm really struggling to find some knee pads that will fit my legs!

I'm new to skating and don't fancy trying to learn without protection

Any help is greatly appreciated!

roba

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 764
Re: good knee pads for big :) boy
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2022, 04:02:57 AM »
i don't have any recomendations, but if you're trying to learn how to do ollies and shit like that pads might be a little restrictive when it comes to knee movement. for "street" skating you'll be ok with just a helmet, and maybe elbow pads. obviously falls are going to hurt but that's part of the game. if you're scared of injuries, well kneepads won't do shit when you twist your knee or something. transition is a whole different beast and full pads would be useful there, but you'll be ok without them on street obstacles.
I'm ok with theft. It happens to me all the time.
I steal too

I’m rich and smart

R.I.P Tate

scab

• Rep: 200
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2022, 04:29:50 AM »
I second what roba said. "Real" knee pads are only good for sliding (the thing skaters do when they bail on a trick on large ramps). If you're concerned about hitting your knees while learning the basics like riding around and ollies, you might consider volleyball pads. Those should give you a little protection without altering/restricting your natural movement patterns too much.

IpathCats

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2022, 04:50:43 AM »
Helmet and wrist guards will probably do you just fine. Learn to fall properly, especially if you're bigger, this will really help you.

The goal is to ROLL.

Wrist guards will help falling to your hands and rolling to your shoulder.

manysnakes

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1095