Author Topic: How to make skatevideos where I filmed myself more interesting?  (Read 1237 times)

SlapMcKracken

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 92
How to make skatevideos where I filmed myself more interesting?
« on: September 28, 2022, 04:37:18 PM »
I mean I don’t have anybody who can film me most of the time, so I put my cellphone somewhere to film an obstacle and just skate.

I wish I would have somebody filming me, but I don’t, so how can I edit those videos to make them more interesting? Any creative ideas?

Is it possible to film it from further away and then after edit it and zoom in on it a bit - and keeping focus on me to at least get a little bit of movement in it?

I have no experience in editing videos if you didn’t realize.

Lukabrazi

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 152
Re: How to make skatevideos where I filmed myself more interesting?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2022, 04:42:32 PM »
someone who is good at this is Brad Cromer, he posts a lot of clips that seem to be his phone propped up somewhere or on a tripod. maybe reach out to him. It seems like he just finds spots that are interesting looking, and finds a suitable angle that isn't too zoomed out, I'd say try and frame yourself without having to zoom in and you will be much better off. also skate cool and unique looking spots.

zozu

• Rep: 122
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2022, 07:48:38 PM »
Opened the thread to say the same thing, Cromer has the best looking self filmed clips I've ever seen.
His framing and lighting is always on point, so Id say a good adjustable tripod and playing with your camera settings would be the place to start.

Theres a bunch in this edit worth taking inspiration from:

funeral_tuxedo

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1157
  • old and in the way
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2022, 08:03:59 PM »
Spanky adds little animations and weird photoshop transitions to his IG edits

BrockSamson

• Rep: 3
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2022, 10:20:45 PM »