Author Topic: Body size and setup (Madness..)  (Read 1432 times)

FrenchSkater

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 28
Body size and setup (Madness..)
« on: November 20, 2022, 08:44:42 AM »
Let me explain,

I'm 5.7 Ft, I have short legs, and 8 for foot size

For some time, I've been trying to find the perfect setup, and every time I think I've found it, there's this fucking madness that comes back:

Deck : I wonder if I shouldn't go down to 7.9, because I've been skating 8.0 for about 6 years, and sometimes some flip tricks are difficult to throw, when I see Luan Oliveira or cody mcentire, I see that they are small and skate small boards.. but however, it seems to me that some pros who are small also ride 8.25 or more (If anyone can testify having met a pro for real, surprised at the size of board and its size)

Is the body size important to have a quality skateboard ? I skate a lot a lot flatground !

Trucks : I've been skating for 15 years, and in my early years, I was kickflip perfectly, and I had low trucks (Venture lows).

However, I lost the kickflip for 10 years now, and I noticed while watching my videos, that since I have high trucks, I very rarely successfully kickflip. (However, no harm with the flip switch..)

But I feel like I sometimes make a superhuman effort to jump for certain tricks!

I also wonder if stockings aren't better for someone short.. but as I said above, I think short skaters ride standard 55mm independents and do all their tricks very, very well. I think it's all in technique and timing.. unless height is really important? (I skate venture high standards)

Damn, what madness, it's funny to think that in our first years of skateboarding, we didn't think of all that!

What do you think ? In relation to what I told you, but also to have a general opinion and also in relation to your skating, I would like to know !

Thank you for your valuable response !

manysnakes

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1093