Author Topic: Guys who ride shaped decks...  (Read 2310 times)

modern life is war

• Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: -618
Guys who ride shaped decks...
« on: December 27, 2022, 10:42:03 AM »
Have you found that since you started riding a shaped deck you can't go back to a regular popsicle deck?
You’re a Florida native, aren’t you?

Roisto

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 474
Re: Guys who ride shaped decks...
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2022, 11:48:27 AM »
No. I’ve been skating mostly shaped decks for a few years now and I am missing the simplicity of popsicles right now. Maybe when I’m back on a popsicle I’ll start missing some funky shapes. I like both and think both have their place.

backinaction

• SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 279
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2022, 11:55:53 AM »
I have skated shaped in the past - a couple Welcome, a Lib Tech, and am on my second Anti Hero Blue Meanie - which really just has a squared nose.  In most cases I now think I'd rather be on a popsicle.  When my current Blue Meanie is done I will just get a white Eagle deck and call it good.    The last Welcome I had was an Enenra that I bought for the super wide nose, and I prefer the Clutch O shape nose more because it is also fat but less extreme.   

I still don't care for pointy popsicles.

Full shaped popsicles > Shaped decks > Pointy popsicles.

McBrandt

• Rep: -14
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2022, 12:00:33 PM »
I went back and forth with both from 2001 to 2010 or so, but eventually went shaped only. Eventually I fell into a pattern of getting frustrated on a popsicle, busting out my shaped board with 65mm soft wheels and just monster trucking everything, getting back to basics and having fun, to then putting smaller wheels on the shaped board and getting more technical, to then going back to a popsicle, eventually getting frustrated, and repeat the cycle.

ProfessorJSS

• Rep: -6
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2022, 12:22:02 PM »