Author Topic: The HD 4:3 thread  (Read 37846 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CHONGO

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 3776
  • Rep: 15
    • tumblr
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #60 on: May 24, 2017, 03:13:46 PM »
Lumix Gx80 with Meike 6.5 Fisheye

Here is another option, pretty similar to tzhangdox?s option. Is a quick test filmed with a Lumix Gx80(micro 4/3) that has no mic input. So it is recorded with the internal Mic which is the worst microphone ever made.

The fisheye is a Meike 6.5 (149$) pretty affordable price.

Not bad that vig looks good. Wish my park had a curb like that. so sick

tzhangdox

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1521
  • Rep: 166
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #61 on: May 25, 2017, 06:00:58 AM »
Lumix Gx80 with Meike 6.5 Fisheye

Here is another option, pretty similar to tzhangdox?s option. Is a quick test filmed with a Lumix Gx80(micro 4/3) that has no mic input. So it is recorded with the internal Mic which is the worst microphone ever made.

The fisheye is a Meike 6.5 (149$) pretty affordable price.

Oh wow that vig looks great, and the lens seems to be smaller as well as cheaper. Really curious to see how the different 4:3 m4/3 fisheyes compare.

tzhangdox

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1521
  • Rep: 166
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #62 on: May 31, 2017, 05:35:47 PM »

daydreamer101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rep: 0
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #63 on: June 01, 2017, 03:05:26 AM »
Nice Edit! But pretty much the HD Jacob Harris. Ripped of Atlantic drift with the music and editing.

Alex777

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Rep: 0
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #64 on: June 02, 2017, 11:42:18 AM »
Hi guys! Thanks for all the information and examples.
I'm new to filming HD in 4:3, just filmed a line with my Canon t3i (600D) and a Canon 8-15 and I like how it looks like. The thing is I filmed in 4:3 internally (640x480 30p) and it looks awful when I upload the footage to Youtube or Vimeo. I exported the clip with fcp7 using different settings but looks like youtube compresses the file to much. I would like to know how do you export your 4:3 clips and if you film 4:3 internally or you film in 16:9 and then crop to 4:3.

Thanks in advance!

Burton Ernie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
  • Rep: 38
    • Black Mesa
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #65 on: June 02, 2017, 04:22:14 PM »
when you say awful do you mean low-res, poor quality image?

i've never done that specifically with my T3i, but I would try filming as high-res as possible in-camera, and then cropping to suit your needs in FCP. I imagine you'll get a clearer image that way.

unless you can also set the actual bitrate or whatever in-camera, that might be helpful also.

Alex777

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Rep: 0
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #66 on: June 04, 2017, 04:28:09 AM »
I mean that when I look the footage on my computer it looks great but when I upload it to Youtube it looks really bad. I have tried different export settings but they all look the same.

If I film 4:3 internally I only have the 640 x 480 option. I also tried filming 1080 x 720 60fps and then crop it to 4:3 but I don't like how it looks like, I feel like I'm loosing the "VX" effect that I can achieve with the Canon 8-15.

Sorry for my English and thanks in advance.

CossRooper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rep: 26
  • What are you up to, drawing leafs?
    • timecube
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #67 on: September 13, 2017, 06:46:20 PM »

CossRooper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rep: 26
  • What are you up to, drawing leafs?
    • timecube
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #68 on: July 22, 2018, 09:57:03 AM »

Burton Ernie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
  • Rep: 38
    • Black Mesa
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #69 on: July 22, 2018, 03:48:34 PM »
I mean that when I look the footage on my computer it looks great but when I upload it to Youtube it looks really bad. I have tried different export settings but they all look the same.

If I film 4:3 internally I only have the 640 x 480 option. I also tried filming 1080 x 720 60fps and then crop it to 4:3 but I don't like how it looks like, I feel like I'm loosing the "VX" effect that I can achieve with the Canon 8-15.

Sorry for my English and thanks in advance.

not shooting 30p is prob the biggest factor in losing the "VX look." I would suggest shooting the highest res your camera will shoot, then crop to 4:3 and put on a 30p timeline. That's your best bet.

Patey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2254
  • Rep: 93
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #70 on: July 22, 2018, 09:30:28 PM »
I have learned some useful shit in this thread. Thanks dudes.

TheVisitor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Rep: -11
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #71 on: July 25, 2018, 02:40:30 PM »
Since this seems to be a somewhat active filming thread, I wanted to ask something about filming lines.

Am I supposed to be using autofocus when doing this? How am I supposed to manually control the focus ring when the skater is moving closer and further away as I'm filming. Seems unrealistic to set my focus, like 8ft away for example and roll along side them without deviating a few inches/feet as the line progresses. I'm filming with an HPX170 with Xtreme lens.

I know it's not directly related to 4:3 HD filming so feel free to kook me or whatever. For anyone that can provide some help, I appreciate it.

natenola forever

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2507
  • Rep: 102
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #72 on: July 25, 2018, 03:29:17 PM »
Since this seems to be a somewhat active filming thread, I wanted to ask something about filming lines.

Am I supposed to be using autofocus when doing this? How am I supposed to manually control the focus ring when the skater is moving closer and further away as I'm filming. Seems unrealistic to set my focus, like 8ft away for example and roll along side them without deviating a few inches/feet as the line progresses. I'm filming with an HPX170 with Xtreme lens.

I know it's not directly related to 4:3 HD filming so feel free to kook me or whatever. For anyone that can provide some help, I appreciate it.
If you're filming fisheye, there's not much depth of field happening, generally pout the fisheye to the ground from a standing position and hit auto focus button then switch it back to manual focus mode, as long as you're aperture isn't open super wide you'll be fine, set it as near to f5.6 as possible.

Dwyck

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1828
  • Rep: 60
  • i heard gilbert can't read
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #73 on: July 26, 2018, 10:21:54 AM »
Could i put together a sony a7 setup under $1000 or is that stupid? Im seeing used bodies for ~$650

edit: typo
Regular stance is a mental disorder defined by the DSM-5

tzhangdox

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1521
  • Rep: 166
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #74 on: July 26, 2018, 10:26:31 AM »
Could i put together a sony a7 setup under $1000 or is that stupid? Im seeing used bodies for ~$650

edit: typo

4:3 setup? Nope. Even a normal setup, if your budget is 1k, you're better off looking at other options.

TheVisitor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Rep: -11
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #75 on: August 17, 2018, 08:46:39 PM »
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-_5uEMm00xPRVF3NFpraElmR1E

For whoever else that wants it, here is the 4:3 mk1 vig that I use, as seen in the sample footage I posted in the last page.

Is this the same overlay as the one Parker has? Thanks for the google drive link.  ;)

Waiting for my MK2 to come in, gonna try 4:3 HD on my HPX170.

Patey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2254
  • Rep: 93
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #76 on: August 18, 2018, 08:50:20 AM »
Can anyone tell me how to crop to 4:3 in final cut pro x? Everytime I set up a project in 1440x1080p then add 16:9 footage, it just keeps it as 16:9. As well when I add any footage shot in 4:3 it just has the black bars on the sides when I export. I want my video to literally be 4:3, not just letterboxed in 16:9. Youtube tutorials are not answering this for me, unfortunately.

Burton Ernie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
  • Rep: 38
    • Black Mesa
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #77 on: August 18, 2018, 09:26:18 AM »
Can anyone tell me how to crop to 4:3 in final cut pro x? Everytime I set up a project in 1440x1080p then add 16:9 footage, it just keeps it as 16:9. As well when I add any footage shot in 4:3 it just has the black bars on the sides when I export. I want my video to literally be 4:3, not just letterboxed in 16:9. Youtube tutorials are not answering this for me, unfortunately.

Here's what works for me:

After choosing New Project, in the Video > Format field, choose "Custom" instead of 1080/720/etc. Then in the Resolution field you can type in the 4:3 resolution you want (1440 x 1080), and Frame Rate doesn't matter.

That will create a true 4:3 project, then bring your 16:9 clips in, and scale them up to fill the frame. For me it's right at 134%.

I don't know why doing it this way works and choosing the 1440x1080 preset DOESN'T work. I am assuming using the preset makes FCP prioritize the "1080p HD" setting over the actual resolution, but who knows.

Here's a short one I did recently using 1080/60p source footage into a Custom/1440x1080/29.97p project, I think it came out pretty good. Please forgive the dirty/scratched Mk I, I need to get a new front element for it.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BmLfZKvHCwS
 

Patey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2254
  • Rep: 93
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #78 on: August 19, 2018, 11:11:31 AM »
Expand Quote
Can anyone tell me how to crop to 4:3 in final cut pro x? Everytime I set up a project in 1440x1080p then add 16:9 footage, it just keeps it as 16:9. As well when I add any footage shot in 4:3 it just has the black bars on the sides when I export. I want my video to literally be 4:3, not just letterboxed in 16:9. Youtube tutorials are not answering this for me, unfortunately.
[close]

Here's what works for me:

After choosing New Project, in the Video > Format field, choose "Custom" instead of 1080/720/etc. Then in the Resolution field you can type in the 4:3 resolution you want (1440 x 1080), and Frame Rate doesn't matter.

That will create a true 4:3 project, then bring your 16:9 clips in, and scale them up to fill the frame. For me it's right at 134%.

I don't know why doing it this way works and choosing the 1440x1080 preset DOESN'T work. I am assuming using the preset makes FCP prioritize the "1080p HD" setting over the actual resolution, but who knows.

Here's a short one I did recently using 1080/60p source footage into a Custom/1440x1080/29.97p project, I think it came out pretty good. Please forgive the dirty/scratched Mk I, I need to get a new front element for it.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BmLfZKvHCwS

thanks dude, really appreciate it. your clip looks great.

mattchew

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 3309
  • Rep: 152
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #79 on: August 19, 2018, 02:59:27 PM »
Expand Quote
Can anyone tell me how to crop to 4:3 in final cut pro x? Everytime I set up a project in 1440x1080p then add 16:9 footage, it just keeps it as 16:9. As well when I add any footage shot in 4:3 it just has the black bars on the sides when I export. I want my video to literally be 4:3, not just letterboxed in 16:9. Youtube tutorials are not answering this for me, unfortunately.
[close]

Here's what works for me:

After choosing New Project, in the Video > Format field, choose "Custom" instead of 1080/720/etc. Then in the Resolution field you can type in the 4:3 resolution you want (1440 x 1080), and Frame Rate doesn't matter.

That will create a true 4:3 project, then bring your 16:9 clips in, and scale them up to fill the frame. For me it's right at 134%.

I don't know why doing it this way works and choosing the 1440x1080 preset DOESN'T work. I am assuming using the preset makes FCP prioritize the "1080p HD" setting over the actual resolution, but who knows.

Here's a short one I did recently using 1080/60p source footage into a Custom/1440x1080/29.97p project, I think it came out pretty good. Please forgive the dirty/scratched Mk I, I need to get a new front element for it.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BmLfZKvHCwS

Clip looks greatówhat camera are you using? I assume you had to get some sort of adapter for the mk1? Donít think Iíve heard of anyone using mk1 on HD, only mkII.
P R E P A R E  T O  T I M E C O D E

Burton Ernie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
  • Rep: 38
    • Black Mesa
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #80 on: August 19, 2018, 05:29:35 PM »

Clip looks greatówhat camera are you using? I assume you had to get some sort of adapter for the mk1? Donít think Iíve heard of anyone using mk1 on HD, only mkII.

Thanks mate!

I use a Canon XA20. No adapter needed, I bought a 58mm thread-mount version of the Mk I from Schneider/Century Optics. I don't think it's listed on their site but I contacted them and they had it available!

CHONGO

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 3776
  • Rep: 15
    • tumblr
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #81 on: August 20, 2018, 04:49:13 AM »
holy shit that footage looks SO good

Burton Ernie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
  • Rep: 38
    • Black Mesa
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #82 on: August 20, 2018, 10:17:58 AM »
Thanks! Hereís another short one in color, couple decent fisheye shots in it.

I donít know how to embed Insta clips:

https://instagram.com/p/BMuZMcdDHnB/

doyle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Rep: 150
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #83 on: August 21, 2018, 10:26:43 AM »
I'm working on a 4:3 HD video right now too, using GH5/8-15 and an AC90 for longlens. Here's a little example

https://www.instagram.com/p/BhoswLyF_K5/

poopnutsupreme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 1251
  • Rep: 191
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #84 on: August 21, 2018, 08:48:43 PM »
GH5 is the shit
Any dude that hates on roller hockey hasn't played, and likely haven't played a sport in their entire life.

pointandclick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2836
  • Rep: 144
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #85 on: August 21, 2018, 10:56:34 PM »
I'm working on a 4:3 HD video right now too, using GH5/8-15 and an AC90 for longlens. Here's a little example

https://www.instagram.com/p/BhoswLyF_K5/
what did you film in format wise?

doyle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Rep: 150
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #86 on: August 21, 2018, 11:42:14 PM »
Expand Quote
I'm working on a 4:3 HD video right now too, using GH5/8-15 and an AC90 for longlens. Here's a little example

https://www.instagram.com/p/BhoswLyF_K5/
[close]
what did you film in format wise?
The GH5 fisheye stuff is in the 4k/60fps anamorphic mode (the last slowmo shot is 1080p120) and the AC90 is 1080p60. I use a 1440 x 1080 project and scale the fisheye stuff down there.

Burton Ernie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
  • Rep: 38
    • Black Mesa
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #87 on: August 22, 2018, 07:34:48 AM »
Looks good Doyle!

pointandclick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • ******
  • Posts: 2836
  • Rep: 144
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #88 on: August 22, 2018, 11:11:07 AM »
Expand Quote
Expand Quote
I'm working on a 4:3 HD video right now too, using GH5/8-15 and an AC90 for longlens. Here's a little example

https://www.instagram.com/p/BhoswLyF_K5/
[close]
what did you film in format wise?
[close]
The GH5 fisheye stuff is in the 4k/60fps anamorphic mode (the last slowmo shot is 1080p120) and the AC90 is 1080p60. I use a 1440 x 1080 project and scale the fisheye stuff down there.
cool, did you use a m4/3 8-15 or canon with a speedbooster?

doyle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Rep: 150
  • SLAP OG SLAP OG : Been around since SLAP was a mag.
Re: The HD 4:3 thread
« Reply #89 on: August 22, 2018, 11:56:47 AM »
Expand Quote
Expand Quote
Expand Quote
I'm working on a 4:3 HD video right now too, using GH5/8-15 and an AC90 for longlens. Here's a little example
[close]
what did you film in format wise?
[close]
The GH5 fisheye stuff is in the 4k/60fps anamorphic mode (the last slowmo shot is 1080p120) and the AC90 is 1080p60. I use a 1440 x 1080 project and scale the fisheye stuff down there.
[close]
cool, did you use a m4/3 8-15 or canon with a speedbooster?
Canon 8-15 with a Viltrox EF-M2 speedbooster (0.71x, same as the Metabones Speedbooster Ultra but cheaper)