Author Topic: How to get into the industry as an artist/graphic designer?  (Read 2255 times)

Szechuan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 219
  • BadDreams nightmarecollective.
    • BadDreams nightmarecollective. 📺 avatar image
How to get into the industry as an artist/graphic designer?
« on: December 16, 2017, 01:22:05 AM »
I'm an artist with a concentration in graphic design and I was wondering, does anyone have any advice on how to get a foot in the door for creating things for companies? I've been obsessed with skating forever and would love to make art for the thing I love full time. I live nowhere near Cali or NYC hence why I'm asking, as I figured if anywhere would have advice it would be SLAP.

chodekaka

Re: How to get into the industry as an artist/graphic designer?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2017, 01:46:39 AM »
I dunno what forum you’ve been on for the last 72 posts but you figured wrong if you think anyone here has tangible advice on how you can break into the skateboarding industry. You don’t know how to market your art and reach out? Jamie Thomas was just hiring a graphic designer and a filmer on Instagram like a month ago. Get a job in shipping or warehouse or whatever you can and work your way in. Also being obsessed with skateboarding doesn’t make you at all qualified or entitled to make money in the industry without skills that pay the bills and you’re pretty naive because it’s a lot to do with who you know and friends/networking if you don’t have any skills on a board. Maybe doublesteveburger would have something to say because he’s had his art on a board but there’s no secret it’s like trying to be an artist anywhere else everyone successful has usually followed a different path. Sorry if this is mean ignore me if you want what the fuck do I know anyways.

Szechuan

• SLAP Pal
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2017, 01:54:41 AM »