Author Topic: Brazil vs Twitter  (Read 430 times)

SneakySecrets

• Trade Count: (+5)
  • SLAP Pal
  • Rep: 1139
  • User is on moderator watch listWatched
Brazil vs Twitter
« on: April 08, 2024, 05:15:04 PM »
Interesting case study, watching titanic forces duke it out while the rest of us plebs worry about whatever it is we are worrying about.  Sort of a foreshadowing of  what might be happening in the US soon.

I’m not an expert, just an onlooker, so please correct me where I’m wrong.  I come to the whole thing as “free speech = good, censorship = bad”.  Just a core belief I have.  And I really don’t particularly like anyone involved…

Anyways, an entrenched state, with all its codicils, whether you agree with it or not, demands twitter, X, essentially give them the ability to censor that which its population sees.  So if you look at it by the book, this is a country exercising sovereignty. So in this way, it is good and right.  Right?

Musk has flatly refused, making him definitionally a rogue non-state actor.  This has created a sort of crisis in a managed democracy.  His money let him purchase something that is losing $, but obtaining him raw political and informational power.  Is this good or bad?  Idfk. 

What is going to happen when a non-American-empire-approved counterelite breaks from the plan?  It’s sort of a stress-test.

Will Brazil opt to ban twitter?  What will be the backlash, if any?  Again, I’m just a dummy blowing off a little mental steam.  It’s just fascinating watching such a huge wrench being thrown into the machine of elite opinion-making.  Obviously any hegemonic system is going to circle the wagons and protect its supply lines.  I think it’s probably too late for any sort of counterelite to make any sort of meaningful difference.  The leviathan is too firmly entrenched so I don’t think you guys have anything to worry about.  Most of this is above me, it’s just fascinating watching it play out.