Author Topic: DIY Thread (Not skating related)  (Read 840 times)

beatifk

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Rep: 162
DIY Thread (Not skating related)
« on: October 22, 2019, 12:56:12 AM »
Maybe there's been a thread before... but I didn't find it.

Does anyone do DIY stuff, like renovating their house or whatnot? From my experience, lot's of skateboarders work in blue-collar type stuff (I work in a factory myself) so how many people are doing their own home improvements?

I'm asking because I am looking to buy an apartment. I like the apartment, I like the location, it's got a huge terrace which I already envision with a miniramp on it but the big problem is that the bathroom needs to be re-done. All the plumbing is fine, it just needs like all the pieces: toilet, sink, shower, tile, etc. A general rehab. Is that something I should not try to do myself? I built like DIY loft apartments in the past, but they were in the same type of family as punk-squats or like a skatehouse, so they weren't really slick and now that I'm an adult I've gotten more used to living in civilized comfort. I just don't want to spend 10grand to fix this bathroom up.

I like doing manual labor, but I don't have a good crew I could ask for help so I'd be doing most of the work myself or with one of my friends who is an architect who offered to help. But, he's too anal about everything so I'm a little worried about working with him because it could postpone the work until everything is "perfect" and I just don't have the time or money for things to look like they came out of Architectural Digest. So I may end up doing a lot of it myself. Am I stupid thinking I can do it? I'll probably pay someone to do the big stuff like install sink and toilet and shower but I would like to try to do the tiles, painting, and maybe the lighting myself.

Any amateur DIYers out there who've tackled a project like this and had it turn out great? Was it a huge mistake?